I Need Some Prayer

There is a backlog of blog posts that are in my head that I need to write.  But, as you could tell, I have not written them.  In the busyness of the past few weeks, I haven’t carved out the time.

But for now, all I’d ask for is prayer and encouragement…I truly need it.  It seems that the overload of new things and responsibility–from moving, to living in an entirely new place without close friends, to being without a church family, to teaching high school, to taking 5 seminary classes, and operating in the real world of shopping and cooking and cleaning and budgeting and bill-paying and traffic–has left me feeling empty, discouraged, and over-whelmed.  And while I’d like to say that I’m relying wholly on God and He’s getting me through just fine, more honestly I’d say that I’m struggling to make the effort to devote myself to the necessary prayer and meditation and thanksgiving and obedience to thrive in a new place.  I’ve seen very keenly how much I relied on people and comfort zones and family and church to keep me stable in Dayton, and now that these things are gone, I see clearly that my relationship and commitment to God that should have been grounding these things is a lot more shallow than I thought.  And this is a hard to thing to realize when the only way to realize it is to fall on your face again and again and come to see that you are hopeless and helpless without God and your own spiritual laziness might be your worst enemy.  And as I get more discouraged about things and myself, I tend to become more lazy, procrastinate more, and use shallow things to take my mind off of my stress and my problems.  Which only continues the cycle.

So, at the risk of publicly reveling in my own neediness, I’m asking that you’d pray for me:

–That I would put in the effort to pursue God more fully, repent more honestly, and renew my mind more intentionally.

–That I would run to God rather than shallow things to address my needs; and that I would not try to numb myself to my stress but acknowledge it and conquer it by the power of the Holy Spirit.

–That I would find nuggets of encouragement each day to keep me going and hearing God’s voice of “well done, good and faithful servant.”

–That I actually would be a good and faithful servant!

–That life in Charlotte would soon become a joy rather than a burden and that I would thrive rather than merely survive.

Thank you for your prayers.  None of us can walk faithfully as a disciple of  Christ without God’s help, strength, encouragement, and conviction.  And none of us can do it alone.  So thank for walking with me and being God’s means of encouragement and strength along the way.

6 thoughts on “I Need Some Prayer

  1. Nathan, I felt burdened to pray for you last night. Your recent comments in this post have spurred me on to pray in a more specific way for you. May you be encouraged and blessed. Remember, zoom out, and get the big picture.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Nathan,

    I am praying for you today! I’m sorry that you are having these feelings but I am thankful that you are “hollering out” to us, your sisters and brothers, to pray for you and strengthen you. As I look back on my life when I’ve had feeling of isolation and stress, I can see that it was a temporary time. I look back and see that once I took that leap of faith to let others in and see what I was really struggling with and when they began to encourage me and pray for me – the feelings of isolation and stress lessened – some. I know that soon you’ll begin to feel us praying for you and loving you from miles away.

    I have been terrible about letting you know that I think of you and pray for you often. But I do. I sit in my office about 8 hours a day and I have your picture right on my bulletin board and EVERYTIME I see it, I pray for you. Sometimes I just pray that you are having a good day and other times I pray more specifically that you’ll enjoy a good meal or dessert that day. Just some touches of heaven here on earth! 😉

    James 1:12 “Blessed is the man who remains steadfast under trial, for when he has stood the test he will receive the crown of life, which God has promised to those who love him.” As yucky as trials are, we know and can rejoice that God is taking us deeper and making us more like Him. Keep your head up, Nathan! The finish line is closer than you think! We love you!

    Carrie (& Tommy)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. When going through times of storms and discouragement I have always found strength in scriptures….God speaks and I listen and I know that a year from now I will look back and be thankful that the storm DID pass and God was the reason I made it through…. A few verses that I have clung too when going through deep waters myself:

    “Be still in the presence of the Lord and wait patiently for Him to act” Psalm 37:7

    “I life up my eyes to the hills, where does my help come from? My help comes from the Lord, the maker of heaven and earth.” Psalm 121:1-2\

    “I know the way that I should go, when He has tested me I will come forth as gold.” Job 23:10

    “….With God all things are possible.” Matthew 19:26

    Be encouraged….God has just spoken to you……BELIEVE!!!!! 🙂 I will pray for you!!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

