Update–The Glorious Adventure of Finding Housing

It’s a good thing that God’s bigger than me, because trying to find a suitable living situation in Charlotte has proved beyond my powers…

For the last month or so, I’ve spent many hours networking with potential housemates, making phone calls, researching countless rental homes, haggling with home owners, and seeing plans crumble to pieces at the moment of greatest optimism. And yet I’m moving to Charlotte August 4, and I’m not all that worried that I’ll have a place to stay. God will take care of that part; all He wants me to do is put in the required effort.

So where am I in the housing process, then? I have networked with several other seminary and non-seminary mutual friends, and it looks like 5 or 6 of us will be renting a house together. We’ve tried to sign leases on several places, but they’ve fallen through. We’ve sent in a housing application to a house just minutes from RTS and minutes from Greyfrairs Classical Academy (where I’ll be teaching), and we’re awaiting that application to be accepted and the lease finalized.  If it works out, it’ll be a massive blessing. Not only is it close to campus, but it also still has some of the home owner’s furniture available for use. It has a backyard which I’m hoping to use (some of it at least) for a vegetable garden next year. And it also has two decks, which will make hospitality more feasible for such a crowded house.

Things are still up in the air, however. And I covet your prayers. Ideally, if this house does not work out, we want to find a similar place–one that is close to campus and work, has a yard, and will be $400 or less per month per person for rent and utilities. It’s difficult to find such places around Charlotte, but we’ve seen a few thus far, and I know that God can provide such a place in His grace. So please pray that we will find a place that meets our goals.  And, as a secondary prayer, if God doesn’t want us to have our dream rental for our first year, please pray we can find contentment in whatever He gives us. We can give thanks in all things, through Christ who strengthens us, to paraphrase Paul.

That’s the most important thing on the prayer list at the moment. I’ll keep you posted!

Until next time, this is your currently homeless (well, sort of) seminary friend.

 

 

Leave a Reply

